Monday, June 26, 2006

XL Recordings Hardcore

No big mystery here. Just some excellent quality Hardcore. If you wanted to get this on vinyl you'd pay a pretty penny on ebay. The Fairy Dust track is excellent. I will post side B later today.


download Side A

A1 - T99 - Anasthasia (The Scientist Remix) (5:22)
A2 -
Channel X - Rave The Rhythm (4:35)
A3 -
Holy Noise - The Noise (X-Treme Sounds) (5:33)
A4 -
John & Julie - Circles (Round And Round) (G.T.O.'s Europa Remix) (5:30)
A5 -
Set Up System - Fairy Dust (Centripetal Mix) (4:40)
A6 -
External Group - Gravity (Eternal Mix) (5:14)

B1 -
Cubic 22 - Night In Motion (Original Mix) (5:14)
B2 -
Digital Boy - Gimme A Fat Beat (Frank De Wulf Remix Part One) (4:43)
B3 -
Frequency (3) - Where Is Your Evidence ? (Hard! Harder!!) (5:19)
B4 -
Prodigy, The - Charly (Alley Cat Mix) (5:27)
B5 -
Incubus - The Spirit (5:00)
Praga Khan - Rave Alarm (Underground Mix) (5:10)

I have to recommend this current electro mix as a standout, from the Swedes Konstruction.

And . . . apparently "Glow Sticking" is an art. Here trailer for the "Art of Glowsticking" dvd.

Monday, June 12, 2006

Acieed! tape compilation

You walk into the Dalston Oxfam Shop. The bin of tapes lies before you with the slightly dank smell of worn clothing wafting from the racks nearby. Stale dust from countless little corners of homes where the owners' cigarettes and crisp crumbs linger in the plastic cases. Then you see a faded colored photocopied cassette cover which says "Acieed!" and some dodgy graphics and you know that someone has lovingly left you one of their personal comp tapes.

This is not really acid but more like early house.  No doubt the makers of the tape wanted to reference the famous D-Mob track We Call it Acieed.

Side a

Side b

Monday, June 05, 2006

SMYLONYLON 28 Tape mix!

I found a ton of amazing tapes from the Dalston Oxfam Shop this weekend which I will post soon. But as I am just back in London I have decided to post another cassette which I probably should have posted already, my Smylonylon 28 compilation tape.

Back in the late 1990's in NYC, in the search for another good used piece of clothing, I wandered into the Center for the Dull on Lafayette street. The place was like a cave inside with used jeans piled everywhere and clothes hanging from the ceiling. What really struck me, though, was an amazing mix of songs playing in the background. I asked and they were selling mixtapes done by the owner called Smylonylon. The only ones I could buy at the time were numbers 27 and 28. Some of the songs sounded like they'd been slowed down almost beyond recognition to match the beat, but it worked like very little I've heard since. Somehow, I've lost number 27 and I've asked many people and never found any other tapes.

Here's a little info on the shop and Chris Brick who did the tapes with Alex Gloor of current group In Flagranti/Codek. Check out his new cd and videos here. He was also involved in the amazing Organic Grooves parties which used to take place in NYC. I think it's a shame that such great interesting mixes are not available somehow. And I've offered to anyone I've spoken to record any Smylonylon tapes into digital. Let me know if you have any more info on these guys or the tapes. NEW INFO!! The Downrightuptight blog is going to post a bunch more of the smylonylon tapes. Yeah!

- some new info: I've been told (though I can't independantly confirm) the following about X14 and Parfum from Spain - they were "a regular dance club staple . . . in Texas in the late 80's. . . . I certainly do remember hearing [them] when i'd go out in around 1987-89 while I was a student at university in Austin. My wife just reminded me that "parfume from spain" was part of the film soundtrack for John Hughes' "She's Having a Baby." it is not on the official released soundtrack, but is part of the theatrical release of the film, specifically the scene when Kevin Bacon's character is in the photo studio trying to wrangle a baby." This excellent info from this lovely sojourner on the web.

Side A

Side B

Here is the track listing:

Side A

1. Forces - Cinnabar
2. Klaus Prunster (Klaus PrĂ¼nster)- Kommunikation Hip-Ipp (would love to get this album it's on)
3. Telex - L'Amour Toujour
4. Sharpe & Numan - Change Your Mind
5. Johnny Warman - Will You Dance With Me
6. Gino Soccio - Dream On
7. Tony Cook - On The Floor (Rock-It)
8. Rockets - Video-Addict
9. Pete Shelly - I Generate A Feeling
10. Yello - Pinball Cha-Cha
11. Space Art - Love Machine
12. X14 - Parfume From Spain
13. Helen - Tunis Tunis
14. Stefano Breda - Electric Fling
15. Ray Lema - Dancometer

Side B

16. Gino Soccio - The Runaway
17. Frankie Goes to Brooklyn - Two Tribes
18. Jah Wobble - Blueberry Hill
19. Talking Heads - Crosseyed & Painless
20. Metro - Flame
21. Rockets - Back To Your Planet
22. Gino Soccio - Running in Circles
23. Sparks - Beat The Clock
24. Rita Mitsouko - Andy
25. Kid Creole - I'm a Wonderful Thing Baby
26. Belle Epoque - Miss Broadway
27. Heaven 17 - Let Me Go
28. Polyphonic Size - Saison

Here are some tracks from the mix:

Dr. Calculus - Perfume from Spain (which I think is the correct name for the track listed as X14 - Parfume from Spain on the tracklisting)

Rockets - Video Addict

And something else: